top of page
  • Rhiannon Cox

Dead Roses

It took me six weeks,

but I finally did it.

The bouquet of flowers

(Given to me by coworkers)

As a sign of love in my

"Time of need"

died not long after he did.


It's interesting to me

That when someone dies

We give their loved one flowers

As a sign of love and hope

But ultimately another thing

That they have to watch die.


It took me six weeks to see

The lilt and drying of

Each petal and leaf,

Before I could say goodbye

But today I finally did it.

I accepted the roses

For all they are

And our time together

For all that it was.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Splintered Sanctuary

Silence. So anxious I can feel my heart thumping through my chest Threatening to turn the lump in my throat Into full blown tears to stain my face again. Gentle breathing, in their own rhythms Through

Love Override Code

If you've grown up or lived with any kind of mental illness or trauma, then you'll likely understand what I mean when I say, so much about who I am is naturally self destructive. I forget to eat for d

bottom of page